What Xvangelical Means to Me: Part 2 – Politics Are TOO Important

It was 2015.

I was campaigning for public office.

I was a true believer! The hyped rhetoric had me in its web. We just need the right Christian person in office. That will change our political system.

Why not me?

Why not now (or then)?

At the time, I had served for more than a decade in bi-vocational ministry as a pastor and youth pastor in Southern Baptist Convention churches. I had hoped that background would provide me with unassailable street cred.

It didn’t.

I quickly discovered just how unrelenting the assault was going to be on my Christian credibility. I only wished that my faith was actually being measured by an appropriate standard.

Christian Credibility Under Attack

Unfortunately, that is not what happened. Time and again I was under attack for daring to not toe the line marked in the sands near Mar-a-Lago laid by another politician running for office at the time. This politician didn’t make his rounds in the ranks of pastoral ministry at all. In my own recollection, this guy wasn’t much for Christianity at all.

He was a business man.

I was either with him, or I was against God because he was God’s chosen political vessel, or so I was told quite often during my door-knocking, boots-on-the-ground campaign. I was told numerous times that apparently I didn’t know Jesus or the Bible or I would be in lockstep with Trump.

Since then I have watched in shock and horror as the level of division within the Christian faith has risen to overflowing the levees of our church pews. All over one man, one political man. Talk about looking at the fruits!

If you’ve followed me for any period of time you will be well acquainted with my thoughts on the politicization of our faith. If you’re among those who have not you can check out this post to see where I stand on the whole concept of political power.

I’ve also written a trilogy of sorts detailing the impact President Trump’s era has had on my shared faith. You can read part 1, part 2, and part 3, if you want more information.

Now that you’re caught up, let’s talk about just how done I am with the church being too political.

Too Political?

Unfortunately, our political natures draw us into the cons and deceptions sprung by those truly holding the strings of power. We’ve allowed ourselves to become the pawns that proliferate their hold on power. We’ve been duped into believing that we control them.

The apostle Paul vociferously warned us that seeking such control is a fool’s errand and just opens the door for negative spiritual powers to abuse us.

“For our struggle is not against enemies of blood and flesh, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers of this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.”

-Ephesians 6:12, NRSV

People are not our enemies and not what we are struggling against. Even if you believe other people are your enemy, as a Christian, you’re commanded by our King to love … not to be at war … with them. More on that in a moment.

Our struggle as people who claim the Christian faith is supposed to be against the rulers and authorities … i.e. the political powers in our present day … that are under the sway of evil.

Instead, we’ve taken the bait and received the switch.

Our own clamoring for our own competing versions of a utopia has us seeking political power. If we just had the right person, the right law, the right opportunity … we could create heaven on earth using political means.

While I’m all for establishing the kingdom of heaven on earth, I believe it is exactly what Christ desired, I believe He rejected using political means to establish it and we would be well to follow His own example.

We’re In The Wrong War

We’ve become soldiers in a culture war.

Christ never called us to this while dwelling in a cultural context that had its own erroneous ways. Abortion, homosexuality, and drug abuse were part of the culture in which He spoke. Yet, nothing in His recorded words hints at overthrowing Caesar to incorporate and impose faith on the masses.

Yet, here we are at war with one other.

Liberals versus conservatives.

Christianity has both.

Meanwhile, our true enemy is using this mechanism to divide and conquer. How? By keeping us off our mission and instead competing with the enemy’s mission. He uses our wants and desires that we see as holy and the very things to which we believe we have a right.

James described our dilemma well in his letter.

“Those conflicts and disputes among you, where do they come from? Do they not come from your cravings that are at war within you? You want something and do not have it; so you commit murder. And you covet something and cannot obtain it; so you engage in disputes and conflicts.”

-James 4:1-2a

We crave the power to shape our culture after what we believe to be right and wrong. We justify our craving by baptizing it with the Bible. We don’t see how manipulatively we’re using Scripture toward our own utilitarian ends.

As I said earlier, we’ve swung the gate wide for those politicians cunning enough to wrap themselves in our appropriate version of political warfare terminology. President Trump was equally as masterful at bathing himself in right-wing culture war lingo as President Obama was with the left-wing version.

In my view, neither side has the complete picture of YHVH or His will as revealed in Christ. However, too often, both sides are willing to viscerally castigate one another in a quest for the political power to chart our culture’s future.

Both sides “covet and cannot obtain” the ability to impose their agendas on the often unwilling populace. Christ didn’t impose Himself upon the unwilling. He allowed the unwilling to walk away (John 6:66)?

If we are truly secure in Him, why aren’t we willing to do the same?

What Can We Do?

Recognizing that we’re fighting the wrong war is just the beginning.

Unfortunately, we’ve been wired by year upon year of “Biblical” teaching that demands we take action against our political enemies to “win” the culture war. This teaching isn’t “Biblical” as I wrote about here.

In order to fight in a new, more appropriate war we have to escape our current manipulated mindset that has us battling one another in a self-perpetuating, unwinnable culture war designed to keep us divided. I’ll briefly share what triggered this transformative process for me.

Since we’re each unique creatures, I imagine your path will be different, although this may work for many of you as well.

My triggering began with the words of Christ found in the book of Matthew. A couple of the things He said constantly and incessantly echo through my mind still today. Here is the first.

“In everything do to others as you would have them do to you; for this is the law and the prophets.”

-Matthew 7:12 NRSV

I began thinking how this verse applied to all of life, not just my daily encounters with others. How can I vote for or support something or someone politically which will empower harm against others? I wouldn’t want someone to do that to me, why would I want to do that to someone else?

Every vote I cast empowers government to harm another human being based on my own preferences. I can’t see this in any other way than defiance of Christ’s words. I see a lot of people respond with Jesus’ words about rendering unto Caesar.

Let’s look at them briefly so you can see that Jesus was telling us to disengage, not engage, the political structures.

“Show me the coin used for the tax.” And they brought him a denarius.”

-Matthew 22:19 NRSV

Why did Jesus ask for the coin?

Because He was broke. He was disengaged from the Roman economic system. He needed someone to provide a coin for His illustration.

“Then he said to them, “Whose head is this, and whose title?” They answered, “The emperor’s.”…”

-Matthew 22:20-21a NRSV

Jesus question has an immense implication.

Caesar’s image and likeness were on the coin. It belonged to Caesar. But, may I ask, whose image and likeness do we bear if we are in Christ?

No longer Caesars. No longer that of democracy, or of republic … but of Christ.

“Then he said to them, “Give therefore to the emperor the things that are the emperor’s, and to God the things that are God’s.””

-Matthew 21:b NRSV

Christ refused to be a part of Caesar’s system. His example demonstrated that He desires for us to do the same. We are part of Christ’s system. We are part of His kingdom.

Hence, our war is in establishing a competing kingdom … not taking over the current ones of which Paul said belonged to evil. Our priority is His kingdom and His righteousness, which is more of what stood out to me from Christ’s words.

“But strive first for the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

-Matthew 6:33 NRSV

Focusing on Christ’s words also made me more aware of the suffering of others. How can I claim to be just and yet remain voiceless against injustice when it occurs?

Hence, I was left with the dilemma with which I wrestle. How do I engage the political realm without doing things to others that I wouldn’t want done to me?

The absolute last thing I want done to me is for my enemy to impose his/her will upon me through legal governmental means. This brings me to the next things Jesus said that continues to ruminate in my mind.

“But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,”

-Matthew 5:44 NRSV

Jesus taught His disciples a different response to the aggression of our enemies. Love and prayer. Paul carries our response a few steps further.

“Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse them. … Do not repay anyone evil for evil, but take thought for what is noble in the sight of all. If it is possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave room for the wrath of God; for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” No, “if your enemies are hungry, feed them; if they are thirsty, give them something to drink; for by doing this you will heap burning coals on their heads.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”

-Romans 12:14 & 17-21 NRSV

Too many of our “leaders” are preaching the opposite.

What we’re hearing is that if we’re persecuted, curse. Get even with your enemies, even if you’re nasty about it. Peace only happens on our terms. Get revenge at the ballot box or through legislation. If your enemy is hungry or thirsty, good, that’s what they deserve.

Jesus modeled a lifestyle that doesn’t see other and enemy in those terms.

He saw them as human beings that deserved love. His love for them drove Him to the cross. What is our love for those we consider other and enemy driving us toward?

Reconciling these differences began my journey away from using political means and engaging as a pawn in the culture war.

Instead, I give a cup of cold water. I chose rather to love my enemy and my opponent for the sake of the hope that their heart can be transformed toward my favor.

That’s how love works.

Sure, Jesus boldly criticized those who used and benefited from the power structures of His day for the sake of benefitting themselves. Personally, I believe He would have the same harsh words for many elevated Christian leaders today who are doing the same thing.

As I said, politics are too important.

Grace and peace!

If you liked this post, you just might enjoy my book, What He Said: Living the Sermon on the Mount, Transforming American Culture.

You can also follow along with me on my journeys through men’s mental health issues and Christian renovation at the links below:

That’s Me in the Corner – My journey through men’s mental health issues

Xvangelical – My journey through Christian renovation

You can also buy Xvangelical merch at proudlibertarian.com.

5 thoughts on “What Xvangelical Means to Me: Part 2 – Politics Are TOO Important

  1. Betty Gail Jones February 7, 2022 — 1:43 pm

    Following your journey with these posts. Trying to understand exactly what it means to be xvangelical. So far I find you have a problem with shame and politics in the church. Though you may not believe it, I agree with the root of your observations so far, though our thought processes differ. I look forward to your next post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Betty Gail,

      I believe that more likely than not, many of us have a lot of common ground on the issues I’ll be discussing. Thanks for following along and I hope these posts are a blessing.

      For me, Xvangelical is two things noted by the “X”.

      First, X=Christ. Everything for me begins and ends with Christ and His teaching.

      Second, X=Former, as in former evangelical with a lot of evangelical views, just unable to associate fully with American Evangelical Christianity which I label as AEC in my posts.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close