Xvangelical Visits First Presbyterian Church of Batesville, AR

Caleb and I @ Batesville First Presbyterian Church, March 13, 2022

I love purple! Well, a shade of purple.

It’s that shade of purple we find in that weed that is common as it colors the sides of our highways. I’m sure you know the one, or have seen it at least.

I mention this because my visits the last few weeks have reminded me of how much I enjoy the color purple. I saw it again this week in my visit to First Presbyterian Church, Batesville, AR.

My son Caleb and I arrived a little early this week. Early enough to snap a quick selfie upon reaching the steps leading to the sanctuary. As we entered we scooped up bulletins so we could keep track of the liturgy.

The large windows and the open sanctuary were striking, especially with the light spilling in from a sunny and gorgeous Sunday morning. It was a little cold with some whipping winds outside, but witnessing the light entering the sanctuary was uplifting.

But the purple, again. I love to see purple. It reminds me of royalty. It calls our God to my mind.

The call to worship was themed around Jesus’ washing His disciples’ feet. Humility was thematic in a lot of the service as it unfolded. The two scripture readings for the day were Psalm 51:1-12 and John 13:1-17.

The Psalm was penned by David as he grappled with God’s grace. His sin was quite heinous and would lead most of us to a lifetime of running from God. Yet, David found grace and so can we.

His grace is readily available.

God is waiting for us to change our thinking. Instead of covering ourselves and attempting to disguise our sin as our ancestors have done since Eden. We need simply come directly to Christ. His incarnation, life, death, resurrection and ascension have taken our sin out of the way. We have the altar of His completed work at which to worship as we approach YHVH’s grace.

My son and I have gotten a little more experienced with following the liturgies. We made it to the sermon doing quite well this week. One of the opening lines delivered by Rev. Leslie Roper struck and stuck with me.

She made the point that potentially, at the Last Supper, everyone reclined at the table with uncustomary, unwashed feet because none of the disciples were willing to set aside their pride and ego to wash each others’ feet like as servant.

Immediately I wondered how many gospel things remain undone for just this reason. I doubt we’ve changed that much over the years. Unfortunately, Roper attests, missing these opportunities causes us to miss out on witnessing the intricacy of grace in others.

I figure that we would prefer to choose those who are recipients of our servitude. Rev. Roper points out that God has that choice. He puts people into our lives for the sake of our learning service as Christ served.

She used an example from the Mr. Rodgers amplify her point.

I love watching Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood when I was younger. Everyone was so kind, compassionate, and willing to help one another.

Rev. Roper’s point of reference was an episode that aired at a touch-point in U.S. history. As a society, we were debating whether Blacks and Whites could use the same toilets, water fountains, pools, restaurants, and schools.

This disagreement drove a wedge in polite, Christian culture at the time.

In the clip, which Rev. Roper highlighted, Mister Rogers shared a kiddie pool as a foot cooling spot with Officer Clemons. Officer Clemons was a character played by a Black man. Not only did they share the pool, but Mister Rogers dried one of Clemons’ feet as well.

Such an act would be unimaginable to many white Americans at the time, even potentially sacrilegious in some parts of the Christian community. Her point was that Mister Rogers chose to exemplify loving others like Jesus would.

He essentially typified washing a black man’s feet to send an extraordinary message for his time. Such a thing required humility and love.

Loving like Jesus loved requires humility. A boundary-crossing, barrier-breaking humility that has laid aside pride and ego for the sake of loving others.

Drawing from my devotional times lately, it is God in us that is capable of producing just this level of humility. We have to be willing to be transformed by Holy Spirit in this process.

After the service ended I got to meet one of Caleb’s football coaches, who happened to be attending. It was indeed a pleasant service and another new experience for Caleb and I. Those we met were warm and friendly.

As we left I picked up a copy of Lent Devotions Drawn to the Cross Inspiration from Henri J M Nouwen and look forward to working through it over lent. As a Baptist, I’m not really familiar with lent and visiting these churches that do engage in it has added to my experience of the faith.

Caleb and I left with a challenge to humbly find ways to serve others. We’re looking forward to our next church visit upcoming this week.

Grace and peace!

You can check out all my church visit blog posts here.

If you enjoyed this, you might enjoy Mark’s book What He Said: Living The Sermon On The Mount, Transforming American Culture.

You can also buy Xvangelical merch at proudlibertarian.com.

2 thoughts on “Xvangelical Visits First Presbyterian Church of Batesville, AR

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close